« A few new logos | Home | Gustr.com closed »
Craigslist Scams
Today we received an rather unpleasant phone call from a very angry individual who accused us of posting scams on Craigslist. His “evidence” of our involvement in these illegal activities is a domain name that is registered to an individual using an email address from a domain we own.
It is important to realize that the WHOIS information for domain names is not reliable. Any indivdual can put any information they want in these records. For example, an individual can put BillGates@Microsoft.com as their email address, and there is nothing to verify that they are, in fact, Bill Gates. This “evidence” in no way links these scammers with our company.
After this individual hung up on us before allowing us to respond to his accusations, we called him back to try to resolve his complaint. He immediately began yelling at us again, threatened to send us bills for each message that “we” posted on Craigslist, and then said that if we called him back again, we’d end us in jail because apparantly in Iowa it is illegal to call people (?).
To conclude, all of our websites are clearly labeled as operating under the brand name of Corban Works, LLC, a legally licensed company. We do not support illegal activity of any kind, and have even recently shut down a profitable website (Gustr.com) in response to individuals using it to commit fraud.
If you have any questions about our policies or procedures, please feel free to contact us.

Leave a Comment